Colaba Point - Spring Time Blacks EP

"If some day you found yourself at a Colaba Point Jam when we're not playing songs, what you'd hear would be something like Spring Time Blacks. Imagine four people playing unrehearsed music in a room and you stick one single microphone in that room. That's what it sounds like because that's what it is."

 

Well that is what you call a concise perspective straight from the horse's mouth. That's right, this my friends is a direct quote from the band that is "Colaba Point" on their latest E.P. 'Spring Time Blacks'. Ideally this review would start and stop right here as their quote perfectly defines the sound that you would find if you were to listen to the E.P, but alas my two cents must grab their spotlight so here goes.

 

Let us begin by introducing the conjurers of this three-track E.P. Cue Colaba Point, a 4 piece band from Mumbai who are highly adept at making uninhibited music via spontaneous jams. This is a quality that is very apparent in their two previous albums – “Colaba Point” (2011) and “Mildly Idyllic” (2012) – and I can say first hand that they pull it off with great pizzazz and feel. The jamming aspect of their music is something that has intrigued me from the first track of theirs that I heard which is called “60’s” from their 2011 album. It starts off with a nice upbeat guitar riff that plays for 20 seconds before dying down for 10 seconds, In which time you hear the members of the band discuss how it is indeed a really nice riff and that they should continue adding to it, making the element of spontaneity very clear. Being a fan of instrumental music I really enjoyed that, because it is a very genuine interpretation of their music. What you hear is what you would get even if you were to hear them live, bringing an honesty to their recorded material which is missing in todays age of layered and structured production.

 

Now we get to their E.P. “Spring Time Blacks” which released early April of this year. The tracks on this E.P. would look something like this if seen in order –

 

Rum Aging

 2nd Floor

 Signals

 

It’s a great release that sticks to the open jam mould of “Colaba Point” and coming back to the quote by the band it really does sounds like just four people playing unrehearsed music in a room to a single microphone (in a good way of course). The roominess of their jam space is immediately apparent in the first track itself “Rum Aging”, it starts off with an evolving guitar riff backed by groovy drums and random chatter among the band members. The track progresses adding more elements as well as changes in pace to the mix. The track ends with another conversation among band members about how they should leave judgement of their music to neutral listeners and concentrate purely on their own discipline and expression. It is a conversation that defines the creative process of Colaba Point as a band in my opinion. The other two tracks on the E.P. follow a similar blue print but in their own way. For example the track ‘2nd Floor’ evolves into a melody driven by a distorted guitar tone on a riff that strays from their usual Blues/Funk vibe to a more straight up rock lead which is very refreshing! Even the track ‘Signals’ has a slight chug to it and eventually lets a keyboard loose on the melody, ending with another short monologue about not taking yourselves too seriously, making the song structure intriguing enough to tap into a listener’s curiosity.

 

Albeit, the general sound in the E.P. is slightly different from what I am familiar with as far as ‘Colaba Point’ Goes, it just shows that when it comes to putting a raw creative process out there for all to hear there are few who do it better than Colaba Point. I shall end this review by saying that apart from enjoying the music on the E.P. one can only wonder if it is a representative for future melodic endeavors by the band. Only time will tell. We shall wait and anticipate. 

« Back to Reviews

Comments

No comments.

Post
Your Comment

Name *

Email *

Comment *

06 PM
Dakini www.dakinirecords.com
04 PM
Autonomous Music http://autonomousmusic.org
02 PM
Celestial Dragon www.sonic-dragon.com
12 PM
Enigmatik www.facebook.com/EnigmatikRecords
08 PM
Cut http://cutrecs.com
10 PM
FUSElab http://fslab.net
02 PM
Boltfish www.boltfish.co.uk
04 PM
Echodub echodub.co.uk
12 PM
Dub Temple dubtemplerecords.bandcamp.com
06 PM
Fresh Poulp www.fresh-poulp.net
08 PM
QUNABU qunabu.com
10 PM
Broken Bubble https://www.facebook.com/brokenbubble
02 PM
Bassweight www.facebook.com/bassweightrecordings
12 PM
FatKidOnFire www.fatkidonfire.com
04 PM
Hyperdub www.hyperdub.net
06 PM
Iron Shirt www.facebook.com/ironshirtrecordings
08 PM
Full Melt fullmeltrecordings.bandcamp.com
10 PM
ABAGA www.abagarecords.com
06 PM
Peak www.peakrec.com
08 PM
Aleph Zero www.aleph-zero.info
10 PM
Ketama www.facebook.com/ketamarecords
04 PM
Gliese 581C http://gliese-records.com
02 PM
Native State
12 PM
Somnia http://somniasound.blogspot.in
06 PM
Chillcode
08 PM
Electrik Dream www.electrikdream.com
12 PM
CosmicLeaf www.cosmicleaf.com
04 PM
Ajana www.ajana-records.com
02 PM
Sentimony http://sentimony.com
10 PM
Nichts nichts.bandcamp.com
02 PM
Ultimae www.ultimae.com
06 PM
Futuresequence www.futuresequence.com
12 PM
Spiritech https://spiritech.bandcamp.com
04 PM
Virtual https://virtual1.bandcamp.com
08 PM
Audio Aashram RELAX www.audioashram.com
10 PM
Interchill www.interchill.com
06 PM
Omelette http://omeletterecords.com
04 PM
Pretty Lights http://prettylightsmusic.com
12 PM
Gravitas http://gravitasrecordings.com
02 PM
Muti Music www.mutimusic.com
08 PM
Hopskotch http://hopskotchrecords.com
10 PM
Bakshish Music https://archive.org/details/bakshish
04 PM
Moonkoradji http://moonkoradji.com
06 PM
Ohm Ganesh Pro www.ohmganeshpro.com
08 PM
Neurotrance http://neurotrance.org
10 PM
Gliese 581C TRIP http://gliese-records.com
12 PM
Elephant Head elephantheadrecords.bandcamp.com
02 PM
Fish' n Trips TRIP fishntripsrecords.bandcamp.com
10 AM
Astronautic www.facebook.com/AstronauticRecords
10 AM
UP www.uprecords.com.au
12 PM
NJOI www.facebook.com/njoimusic
02 PM
Antiscarp www.antiscarp.com
04 PM
Manic Dragon www.sonic-dragon.com
06 PM
Devils Mind dvsm.bandcamp.com
08 PM
Mighty Quinn www.mightyquinnrecords.com
10 PM
Wonkay TRIP www.wonkay.co.uk
10 AM
24/7 Records www.twenty4seven.cc
12 PM
Dacru www.dacru.be
02 PM
Trishula www.trishula-records.com
04 PM
Mental Sauce www.mental-sauce.com
06 PM
Tantrumm www.tantrummrecords.com
08 PM
Mind Expansion www.mind-expansion.net
10 PM
2to6 www.2to6.net
06 PM
Sanaton www.sanatonrecords.com
10 PM
Forest Freaks http://forest-freaks.com
08 PM
MMD www.facebook.com/MMD.Records
02 PM
Psyber Tribe
10 AM
Doof www.doooof.com
12 PM
Pyrethrum www.facebook.com/PyrethrumRecords
04 PM
HorsePower horsepowerproductions.bandcamp.com
04 PM
Sonic Tantra www.sonictantra.com
12 PM
PsySeeD TRIP www.facebook.com/PsySeeD.Recs
10 AM
Trance Lab www.facebook.com/trancelabrecords
06 PM
Kutral https://www.facebook.com/kutralrecords
08 PM
Cosmic Eclipse www.facebook.com/cosmiceclipserec
10 PM
Phreex Networx www.phreex-networx.com
02 PM
Triptec Records https://soundcloud.com/triptec-records
12 PM
Enlight www.facebook.com/enlightcrew
06 PM
Yo-Soy https://soundcloud.com/yosoyrecords
08 PM
Audio Aashram TRIP www.audioashram.com
04 PM
Yggdrasil https://soundcloud.com/yggdrasil-records
10 PM
Parvati http://parvati-records.com
08 AM
Mind Tweakers www.facebook.com/mindtweakers
10 AM
Pureuphoria TRIP http://pureuphoria.org/
02 PM
Quantum Frog
08 AM
Sun Station TRIP http://sunstation.ru
10 AM
Kinematic www.kinematicrecords.com
12 PM
Waveguild http://waveguild.com
02 PM
Helicon Sound System https://soundcloud.com/heliconsoundsystem
04 PM
Under Voice www.facebook.com/undervoicerec
06 PM
DiscoValley www.discovalley-records.com
08 PM
Mystical Flashback www.facebook.com/mystflashbackrec
10 PM
Visionary Shamanics www.facebook.com/VisionaryShamanicsrecords
12 PM
Baroque www.baroquerecords.co.uk
02 PM
Bluetunes www.bluetunes-records.com
10 AM
Traum Schallplatten www.traumschallplatten.de
04 PM
Pure Perception www.pureperceptionrecords.org
06 PM
Wonk#ay www.wonkay.co.uk
07 PM
FishNTrips fishntripsrecords.bandcamp.com
08 PM
Glitchy Tonic www.glitchytonicrecords.com
04 PM
HornsNHoofs www.hornsandhoofs.com
12 PM
Flow www.flow-records.com
02 PM
Mind Dsign www.minddsignrecords.com
06 PM
No Qualms www.noqualmsrecords.com
08 PM
PsySeeD www.facebook.com/PsySeeD.Recs
10 PM
Ektoplazm www.ektoplazm.com
02 PM
Open open-records.net
04 PM
Spintwist www.spintwist.de
12 PM
Beef www.beefrecords.net
06 PM
Bowlba bowlbarecords.bandcamp.com
08 PM
Cosmic Conspiracy www.cosmicconspiracy-records.com
10 PM
Insonitus www.insonitus.com
10 PM
Audio Aashram DANCE www.audioashram.com
12 PM
Miniscule www.miniscule.tv
02 PM
Wind Horse www.windhorserecords.com
04 PM
Pureuphoria DANCE http://pureuphoria.org
06 PM
Another Psyde anotherpsyderecords.bandcamp.com
08 PM
Olotropo www.facebook.com/olotropo
12 PM
Kesuene http://kesuene-records.com
02 PM
Maia Brazil www.maiabrasil.com
04 PM
Atomes www.atomes-asso.com
06 PM
Tribal Vision http://tribalvision.cz
08 PM
Hotflush www.hotflushrecordings.com
10 PM
Black Butter www.black-butter.co.uk
12 PM
IONO www.ionomusic.com
02 PM
Sun Station DANCE http://sunstation.ru
04 PM
Occulta www.occultarecords.com
06 PM
Uroboros www.uroborosrecords.com
08 PM
Drumlore http://drumlore.com/
10 PM
Qilla www.qillarecords.com
12 PM
Digital Diamonds www.digital-diamonds.com
02 PM
Panzar Produktionz www.panzarproduktionz.com
04 PM
Iboga www.iboga.dk
06 PM
Melting Runes www.meltingrunesrecords.com
08 PM
Zenon www.zenonrecords.com
10 PM
Soupherb www.soupherb.in
04 AM
Liquid Sessions
07 AM
Cosmic Vibrations
08 AM
Rise & Shine
10 AM
Relax Picks
11 AM
Indie Picks
12 PM
Dance Picks
01 PM
Trip Picks
02 PM
Rock Picks
03 PM
Bass Picks
04 PM
Radio79 Top 20
06 PM
Autobot
12 AM
Jumpstart
02 AM
G.M.T.
04 AM
Liquid Sessions
07 AM
Cosmic Vibrations
08 AM
Rise & Shine
10 AM
Jumpstart
02 PM
Radio79 Rock
04 PM
It's #aworldwidething LIVE with Amrisha
05 PM
Soundcheck
08 PM
Autobot
10 PM
Focus
11 PM
Sounds Of India (North)
12 AM
Jumpstart Repeat
02 AM
G.M.T.
04 AM
Liquid Sessions
07 AM
Cosmic Vibrations
08 AM
Rise & Shine
10 AM
Jumpstart
02 PM
Pressure Drop with The Reggae Rajahs
04 PM
Autobot
05 PM
Soundcheck
08 PM
Autobot
10 PM
Focus
11 PM
Sounds Of India (South)
12 AM
Jumpstart Repeat
02 AM
G.M.T.
04 AM
Liquid Sessions
07 AM
Cosmic Vibrations
08 AM
Rise & Shine
10 AM
Jumpstart
02 PM
SPECIAL AGENTS SHOW
04 PM
Autobot
05 PM
Soundcheck
08 PM
Autobot
10 PM
Focus
11 PM
Sounds Of India (East)
12 AM
Jumpstart Repeat
02 AM
G.M.T.
04 AM
Liquid Sessions
07 AM
Cosmic Vibrations
08 AM
Rise & Shine
10 AM
Jumpstart
02 PM
Radio79 Bass
04 PM
"Makossa" Hosted LIVE by Solo Indien
05 PM
Soundcheck
08 PM
Autobot
10 PM
Focus
11 PM
Sounds Of India (West)
12 AM
Jumpstart Repeat
02 AM
G.M.T.
04 AM
Liquid Sessions
07 AM
Cosmic Vibrations
08 AM
Rise & Shine
10 AM
Jumpstart
02 PM
Radio79 Jazz & Blues
04 PM
The OK Listen Top Ten Indie Picks
05 PM
"India Anveshan" with your host East Stepper
08 PM
Autobot
02 AM
G.M.T.
12 AM
Jumpstart Repeat
04 AM
Liquid Sessions
07 AM
Cosmic Vibrations
08 AM
Rise & Shine
10 AM
Jumpstart
02 PM
Radio79 Techno
04 PM
Autobot
05 PM
Soundcheck
08 PM
Autobot